Posted by: bluelanternstudio | January 19, 2010

Rockfish in Burrard Inlet

I’m heading to Seattle for a few days this week, so won’t get back to the museum until next week. As an aside, one of the things I’m most excited to see on my trip is an exhibition at the Burke Museum featuring the work of Ray Troll.

Instead of drawings, I thought I’d share a painting I’m just about finished. I started it in the fall, and if you came to my studio during the Eastside Culture Crawl you may remember seeing it tucked into the corner (at that point it just showed the background and the cranes at the port). Since then, I’ve added in the layers of water, the boats and dock, and the rockfish.

Orange Rockfish, acrylic on linen, 36 x 24 inches

 

I painted the rockfish upside down to draw attention to the fact that all is not well for the marine creatures who inhabit our urban coastal waters. They are threatened by pollution from industry, stormwater run-off and sewage, as well as plastic and other debris that blows or flows into the water. But these creatures are still here with us, and we can do lots to make their lives better. This painting is a reminder of all that.

Leave a Reply

Categories

