Posted by: bluelanternstudio | February 21, 2010

rockfish

I love rockfish. I’m not entirely sure why, but it has something to do with how old they get, the fact that they hide, their spikiness, and the sheer number of varieties and colours and patterns. The rockfish in the museum collection are a little disappointing in that they are preserved and the colours have long since faded, but for pencil drawings that doesn’t matter so much. On Friday, I drew two different varieties. I need to look up their common names… Here are the drawings:

[I love the way they seem to be talking to each other when I line them up this way!]

Leave a Reply

Categories

