Posted by: bluelanternstudio | March 2, 2010

A cabinet of crabs

So one of the things I’ve really been wanting to draw is a hermit crab specimen. I have so many memories of watching these little creatures scurrying around along rocky shores as a child. I’d just go to the beach to find one, but they move so quick I’ve been thinking that the museum might have one on hand that I could study at my leisure.

The good news is that the Beaty museum collection includes many hermit crabs. The sad news is that they’re all jumbled in one jar. Rather than try to isolate one, I thought it would be a good challenge to try to draw the whole thing. Here it is:

Before drawing the hermit crabs, I picked out a jar with just one crab in it, preserved since its collection date of August 1967. This one was caught in Sandy Cove in West Vancouver, BC.

Leave a Reply

Categories

