Posted by: bluelanternstudio | April 11, 2010

The Voice of the Sea – update

I’ve been meaning to post updates of paintings in progress all this past week, but was totally stymied by my inability to remember where I put my camera battery charger. Finally found it yesterday, so here’s a week’s worth of updates. The show opens Friday!

The first painting I worked on last week was this one, a three-spined stickleback lost within a school of plastic bottles. 

Three-spined Stickleback

As I was working on that one, I began painting the piece that will be the centre piece of the exhibition, on a large 36″ x 48″ canvas. I still haven’t worked out all the details yet, but the idea is one of salmon migrating: chinook fry heading out to sea and adult chinook returning to spawn. The adults are being led by a King of the Salmon, which is not a salmon but rather a type of ribbon fish. According to Makah legend, the King of the Salmon leads salmon back to their spawning grounds; catching or eating a King of the Salmon is forbidden as it might bring an end to the salmon run.

Here is a photo of me in my studio with the painting behind me (thanks to Keith Jardine for dropping by and taking some pictures while my charger was still missing):

And here’s the painting as it stands now. Still much to add to it tomorrow and Tuesday.

Salmon Migration (detail, in progress)

Over the next few days I will post more images. I’m hoping to have the salmon migration piece done by Tuesday, along with a few other paintings that I started a couple of months ago but haven’t finished. Check back!

[The Voice of the Sea opens Friday, April 16th in the gallery at the Waterfront Theatre at Granville Island (Vancouver BC). All are welcome to the opening reception from 5 pm to 7 pm, including children. Hope to see you there!]

Leave a Reply

Categories

