Posted by: bluelanternstudio | July 22, 2010

Getting ready for the Filberg Festival

Hi everyone,

I haven’t been on-line much over the past month which is why my last blog post was in June (the shame!).  Really I’ve mostly just been in my studio with my head down making as many collage greeting cards as I can to get ready for the Filberg Festival in beautiful Comox, BC, next week.

My original goal was to have close to 1000 cards made (ha!). My current goal is to have 500 completely finished and packaged ready for sale, with another few hundred ready for assembly on the road and throughout the festival weekend.  I’d also like to have more postage stamp collages ready, which may yet happen.

'Conquest' - collage made entirely from images from postage stamps

This will be my first time exhibiting at the Filberg Festival, and my first time as an exhibitor at a festival dedicated to showcasing fine art and craft. I’m honoured to have been selected to participate and am crossing my fingers that my work will be well received. The festival has been running every summer for nearly three decades and has a great reputation among artists and festival-goers. And there’s going to be great music. If you’re on Vancouver Island or somewhere within range, I’d love for you to come, even if just for a day. The complete line-up of artists and performers is on the Filberg website.

Wish me luck!

Robi

Responses

  1. Hi Robi:
    I just got back from the Filbert Festival and I can’t tell you enough how much I enjoyed your exhibit. You were on a break at the time but I spoke to your sister (I think). I told her I was just getting into collage and how it has become so popular all of a sudden. Your work is fabulous and your cause is even greater.
    Thank you for your inspiration. To me, you had the best exhibit of the bunch. Thanks.
    Sandra

    • Hi Sandra! Thanks for stopping by my booth and for your kind words. I enjoyed the Filberg Festival so much this weekend and met so many wonderful people. Keep on with your collage-ing!


Leave a Reply

Categories

