Posted by: bluelanternstudio | August 28, 2010

The Year of the Rabbit

I know, 2010 is not the year of the rabbit. But 1975 was, and 1951 and 1915. Those dates coincide with my birth, the birth of both my parents, and my paternal grandmother. Four rabbits outnumbering my sister, the ox.

The Year of the Rabbits, mixed media collage

 

Today I finished the last large collage for my show at the Britannia Art Gallery, ‘Us and Them.’ Fittingly, this last collage is a tribute to rabbits: wild, kept in hutches, raised for fur, and broiled up for dinner. The numbers 75, 51 and 15 are culled from old bingo sheets, and the heart symbolises good old bunny love. Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

Categories

