Posted by: bluelanternstudio | February 1, 2011

The return of the bird people

Years ago I began grappling with the question of what it means to be human. In a physical way. We’re animals, but we don’t like to admit it. We’re part of nature but we do our utmost to pretend that we don’t need it in order to survive.

What if, I thought, we embraced our animal selves? What would we look like as birds? Butterflies? And so began a series of paintings:

The Judge, acrylic on canvas (Artist: Robi Smith)

Marcel, acrylic on canvas (Artist: Robi Smith)

Plain Jane, acrylic on canvas (Artist: Robi Smith)

[To see more of the series and other old work, click here.]

For a couple of years, these paintings hung on the walls of my studio. Then, I became pregnant and packed everything into storage while my life changed. Even though I opened up my art practice again three years ago, I’ve only just unwrapped these paintings. They’re up in my studio now, wondering what I’m going to do next. If you’re in Vancouver on February 5, drop by to see them!

Leave a Reply

Categories

