Posted by: bluelanternstudio | February 1, 2011

The Year of the Rabbit

I’m a rabbit. My mom is a rabbit. My dad and his mom were rabbits. So I’m feeling quite in tune with the Chinese New Year celebrations this week. I’m very much looking forward to all the rabbitty goodness ahead.

I’m also in an interesting psychological space artistically as I don’t have any scheduled upcoming exhibitions for which I must create new work. And all my current work is on display in a major exhibition until Feb 5. So, with a mostly empty studio and a clean slate ahead, I’ve decided to do some playing and experimenting.

From now until the Eastside Culture Crawl in November, I’m committing to creating at least one 12″ x 12″ painting each month that I will post here and offer for sale for $150. At the end of the month, I’ll either raise the price to match my regular prices (around $300) or paint over the painting and start again. 10 months, 10 paintings.

So, without further ado, this past month’s piece of experimentation, with a strong rabbit theme:

Double Scoop, acrylic on canvas (Artist: Robi Smith) $150 through Feb 28

Responses

  1. How did I end up the ox/water buffalo in the house of rabbits?!!! 🙂 Could this explain a lot? xxT

    • hahaha… it would be interesting to look at the compatibility of oxes and rabbits. For instance, rabbits and roosters are not supposed to get along, and here I am living with two of them (you’re also never supposed to have more than one rooster in the house…!).


Leave a Reply

Categories

