Posted by: bluelanternstudio | June 6, 2012

New fish paintings at Bird on a Wire Creations

I’m excited to be one of two featured artists at Bird on a Wire Creations for the month of June, with Jon Shaw. Both of us have chosen to display paintings about the ocean, topical given that June 8 is World Ocean’s Day.

Image

In addition to my larger, and more expensive, paintings on canvas of local fish, I’ve created a series of small fish paintings on wood panels that are available for less than $100 each. Each original painting is 6″ x 6″. All are painted in acrylic with highlights done in pen.

My favourite is a Starry Flounder. I’ve been wanting to paint a flounder for a long time and finally got around to it:

Image

I also painted two little rockfish – loving the reds in these:

Image

Image

Finally I went for two fish that were unfamiliar to me – two fucus blennies (because they come in such great colours) and a white spotted greenling:

Image

Image

If you’re in the Vancouver BC area, you’re warmly invited to a Private View with both Jon and me at Bird on a Wire Creations (2535 Main Street) on Thursday, June 7, from 7 – 9:30 pm. The Facebook event page is here. Would love to see you!

Leave a Reply

Categories

