Posted by: bluelanternstudio | July 18, 2012

Maritime Art Exhibition in Gig Harbor, Washington

I’m thrilled that two of my ocean paintings have been accepted into the 13th Annual Juried Maritime Art Exhibition at the Harbor History Museum in Gig Harbor, WA, from August 4 to September 2.

I’ve thought about submitting my work to maritime-themed art shows before but was never sure whether my work would be considered a fit. When I think of maritime art, I think of paintings of sailing ships and landscapes of the sea, not necessarily on what’s happening under the water.  Needless to say I took the leap this time and am very glad I did.

‘Opah’, acrylic on canvas (artist: Robi Smith)

The two paintings of mine in the show are ‘Opah’ (above) and ‘Salmon Migration’ (below).

‘Salmon Migration’, acrylic on canvas (artist: Robi Smith)

If you’re curious about the symbolism in my paintings (the outlines of bottles and dinosaurs), you can read more here on my website.

I’ll be bringing my paintings to the museum next week but am unsure whether I’ll be able to get back down to Gig Harbor during the exhibition. If you happen to see the show this summer, I’d love to hear your thoughts.

Responses

  1. This is wonderful news Robi!


Leave a Reply

Categories

