Posted by: bluelanternstudio | August 22, 2012

Cabinet of Curiosities unveiled tomorrow

Earlier this summer, I was commissioned by the Port Moody Arts Centre to created a Cabinet of Curiosities based on the waterways in Port Moody and the Burrard Inlet.  I’ve always been a collector, so I’ve been excited about the idea of creating an entire cabinet based on a theme close to my heart.

“A Sea-fishing Glossary” (Collage, Artist: Robi Smith, Private Collection)

I’ve spent the past number of weeks scavenging and collecting objects from the waterways in and around the Burrard Inlet, Howe Sound, and the Gulf Islands. I’ve found a wide, and sometimes strange, array of items. The smaller ones I bagged and brought back to my studio; the larger ones I photographed. These objects, photographs and related artwork are now installed in the beautiful wood, glass and mirrored cabinet at the Port Moody Arts Centre.

The Cabinet will be unveiled at the exhibition opening tomorrow evening (Thursday, Aug 23 at 2425 St. Johns St.), 6 to 8 pm. My installation is part of a trio of shows about local waterways organized by arts organizations in Port Moody, Coquitlam and Port Coquitlam. Today’s Tri-City News features an article about the initiative. You’re invited to the opening or to drop by to see the Cabinet, on display until September 30.

Leave a Reply

Categories

